New hardware

Tuesday 3. July, 2007

[93222.336000] dvb-usb: found a ‘Artec T14 – USB2.0 DVB-T’ in cold state, will try to load a firmware
[93222.928000] dvb-usb: downloading firmware from file ‘dvb-usb-dibusb-6.0.0.8.fw’

As you can see from the log-snippet above, the new device is Artec’ terrestrial digital television receiver, which for my suprise, actually works in Linux-environment. Actually it works so good, I haven’t yet tried how it works in Windows XP (not that I wish to use it).

The device is hot stuff, literally. It almost burns if touched, though one doesn’t want to touch it anyway, as touching it corrupts the video stream one is watching.

As for receiving transmissons, I had to use the house’s outdoors antenna, as the small one that came with the device didn’t get any signal. I hope this would change when I move out some day as I don’t know whether or not my future home will have option for terrestrial receiving. You really cannot receive digital-cable-tv-signal with this stick or not to even mention satellite signal…

Kubuntu’s Kaffeine-player didn’t have any problems with the receiver and after setting it up, it just worked. As for Kaffeine itself I don’t know if I should blame the translation team responsible for the Finnish translation of the program or the original author, but some translations in the program interface are a bit weird (for example, in the Channels menu, there’s a list of “Äänikanavat” (Sound Channels), which lists all digital radio and tv channels, so I think the caption of the list is at least partly incorrect.

Edit 26.7.2007:

I might have been a bit hasty saying it works correctly. I recorded the Japanese Godzilla movie recently and it really was fun to note that subtitles data was missing. Now I have to take Japanese lessons at the University.

3 Responses to “New hardware”

  1. Harry Hall Says:

    Hello,BigBrother
    I’m now using the Artec T14 DVB-T Stick too on a linux environment. I just don’t know how to make it work properly. Could you give some information about it(Drivers, Settings…)?
    Thx.
    You may reply me via Email:)
    harryhall302@hotmail.com

  2. BigBrother Says:

    First of all, do you get any messages from kernel when you stick it to USB-port? ( “dmesg” is the tool for this, search for anything that has word “dvb” in it.)

    If not, you probably have to load some modules that have dvb in their name. Fairly new distributions’ kernels should load them automatically, though.

    My Fedora-machine didn’t provide needed firmware-file which I had to download manually from http://www.linuxtv.org (Downloads -> Firmware -> dvb-usb-dibusb-6.0.0.8.fw, put file in /lib/firmware/)

    If you are trying to use some other player than Kaffeine, I can’t help on that.

    Stick the stick on usb if it’s not there already and launch Kaffeine. It should present some sort of menu with icons including digital-tv. Select the digital-tv, Kaffeine should be now on “digital-tv mode”. Next you have to scan channels, the option is somewhere in the menus or press C. I hope the menu that opens up explains itself. After scanning and selecting channels, everything should be ready to enjoy digital entertainment.

    If Kaffeine doesn’t have any option for dvb, see http://hftom.free.fr/?q=faq#question20

    I’m sorry if this help is too complicated or doesn’t answer the questions you’re after. I’m writing this from my development environment, which doesn’t have Kaffeine available (yet).

  3. Harry Hall Says:

    Thank you for your reply. I think i will fix it soon. My kernel was just a little old. After upgrading it to 2.6.22.5 (the latest) and downloading the firmware, the DVB stick can be seen in dmesg. However, Kaffeine failed to find any usable channel. It is wierd because I can watch DTV on Windows. I still have something to do. Thank you anyway:)


Leave a Reply

